Highest voter turnout ever for presidential election

Jon Howard
July 18, 2017

Madhya Pradesh BJP MLA Narottam Mishra was disqualified from voting in the Presidential poll. "All parties must ensure their Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) cast their votes so that not a single vote is wasted", he added.

Most of the MPs who would vote in their respective assemblies belong to the Trinamool Congress.

Chhedi Paswan, BJP MP from Sasaram in Bihar, could not vote as his election was quashed by the Patna High Court past year. Besides, Lok Sabha MP from Tamil Nadu Ambumani Ramadoss also did not cast vote.

Mishra said that except for Andhra Pradesh, J&K, Manipur and Tripura, data received from all other states indicated voting was "close to 100%".

Nevada's recreational marijuana supply is drying up. A lesson there for California?
Doing so would allow the Department of Taxation to issue distribution licenses to more applicants beyond alcohol wholesalers. We won't know officially how much revenue recreational marijuana will bring to Nevada in state tax revenue until September.

There are two candidates in the fray for the coveted post - National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition's candidate Meira Kumar. The voting concluded at 5pm. This includes 774 of 776 affidavits of MPs and 4,078 of 4,120 MLAs. Earlier, at about 8.30 am the ballot box was inspected by authorities at the strong room in the Assembly complex and brought to the polling station (conference hall) by 9.10 am. Speaker V Vaithilingam was first to vote, followed by Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, his cabinet colleagues and other legislators belonging to the ruling Congress and its alliance partner the DMK which has two members on its side.

# Nominated members are not allowed to cast their votes.

The result of the presidential elections will be declared on July 20. The Electoral College which elects the President through the system of proportional representation comprises MPs and members of state legislative assemblies. Former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has cast his vote in Gujarat. Polling began at 10 am.

Another NCP leader Majid Memon told ANI that the arithmetic apparently shows that the ruling party is in a comfortable position because they have their own numbers for winning the elections. All the MLAs and MPs should vote for who their conscience speaks for. One Samajwadi party MLA Abrar Ahmed could not cast his vote due to bad health. However, 38 MLAs are eligible to vote in today's election as Vishwajit Rane (Congress) and Siddharth Kuncolienkar (BJP) have resigned.

Other reports by PlayStation Move reviews

Discuss This Article