Scotland named as top seeds in Nations League third tier

Tricia Pearson
October 12, 2017

Croatia has made the elite group of the new the UEFA Nations League competition which will start in 2018.

Following the group stages, the finals of this tournament will take place in June 2019 for the four top teams in League A.

The competition will run alongside qualification for Euro 2020 and is an attempt by Uefa to revive global football by providing teams with more competitive fixtures against teams of a similar standard.

League A includes the likes of world champions Germany, reigning European Championship winners Portugal, France and England.

Teams will be split into four groups of three and play on four of the six matchdays which are spread throughout September, October and November 2018.

March 2020 will see the play-offs for Euro 2020, with the final tournament to be held in 13 cities across Europe, including Dublin, in June-July.

At the end of the qualifying round for the world Cup formed a part of the divisions of the first draw of the League of Nations - a tournament created to replace global friendlies.

The four winners of the League A groups will later meet in semi-finals and finals to determine the Nations Cup winners.

League B: Austria, Wales, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, Republic of Ireland, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Northern Ireland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Turkey.

Spain threatens direct action if Catalonia declares independence as crisis deepens
Catalonia's secessionist leader is under pressure to abandon plans to declare independence as his statement is moved to Tuesday. Rajoy was forced to apologize on Friday, but many in Catalan say the crackdown has only fueled their desire for independence.

The draw for individual groups takes place in Lausanne, Switzerland, on January 24, 2018.

The tournament will be used to reduce the number of friendly matches across the worldwide calendar and provides four qualification spots to Euro 2020.

Teams will be split into four groups of three, and will play the other group teams twice each.

League A will consist of the 12 top-ranked teams.

The winners of the four groups in League A will qualify for the Final Four competition.

Honestly, Pies had completely forgotten about the imminent implementation of the UEFA Nations League, which is basically UEFA's attempt to address the dwindling appetite for the surfeit of meaningless friendlies that now clog up the global calendar.

League D: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar.

This continues accordingly until each of the groups have four teams in the play-offs.

The qualification for Euro 2020 will now now run from March to November 2019, with Dublin hosting the Group draw on 2 December 2018.

Other reports by PlayStation Move reviews

Discuss This Article