India v/s New Zealand, T20s: Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer rewarded for consistency

Allan Goodman
October 24, 2017

Indian selectors met today in Mumbai to select the 16-man squad for India's upcoming T20I series against New Zealand.

With the first T20I at the Feroz Shah Kotla being veteran pace bowler Ashish Nehra's last worldwide appearance, as he announced this month, hence the addition of Siraj in the squad for the series. Nehra has been picked only for the first T20I and it will be his farewell game. "We will monitor Kohli's workload after the Tests (vs Sri Lanka)", said chief selector MSK Prasad.

On the 22-year-old Mumbai right-hander Shreyas, who has been a part of Delhi Daredevils in IPL and who averages 26.85 in T20s and a healthy strike rate of 128.00 in 53 games and scored nine fifties, Prasad said: "Shreyas has been performing consistently in T20s, one-dayers and first-class".

Project Loon: Stratospheric Balloons Are Connecting Hurricane Maria Victims In Puerto Rico
Apple has also been working with AT&T to bring connectivity to residents in Puerto Rico, according to TechCrunch. It is part of an innovation lab within Alphabet that the company calls X, previously known as Google X.

Meanwhile, selectors recalled experienced opener Murali Vijay to Test squad for the first two matches of a three-Test series against Sri Lanka which starts next month. Dinesh Karthik has got another chance in the shortest form of the game, but we aren't sure about his place in the playing XI because of KL Rahul's comeback. However, spin duo of Ashwin and Jadeja who have not featured for India since the Test series against Sri Lanka will continue to remain sidelined against the Black Caps and will return to the squad for the Test series against Sri Lanka in December. There is no assurance from our side that he's going to play or not. The three T20Is with New Zealand will be played in Delhi on November 1, Rajkot on November 4 and Thiruvananthapuram on November 7.

"We can't say that [if he will surely play in the Delhi T20I]. He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well".

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj.

Other reports by PlayStation Move reviews

Discuss This Article