Neiphiu Rio to swear in as next CM of Nagaland today

Violet Powell
March 9, 2018

In a first, the new Nagaland government headed by NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio will take oath at a public function at the Kohima Local Ground today. With this, the NDPP leader has assumed the charge of Nagaland chief minister for the fourth time.

The NDPP-BJP alliance government is being formed in the state under the banner of People's Democratic Alliance.

Rio also reiterated his support for the ongoing Naga peace talks for an "honourable solution which is inclusive and acceptable to the people".

Mr Zeliang's party, the Naga People's Front (NPF), emerged as the single largest party in the elections, winning 26 of the 60 Assembly seats.

Newly sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio on Thursday assured to bring settlement in the Naga political issue as soon as possible.

The Governor said he had received Letters of Support in Mr Rio's favour from 12 legislators of the BJP, one letter from the JD (U) and another from an Independent MLA, besides the 18 legislatures of the NDPP.

Allegiant adds non-stop flights to Oakland International Airport
The new seasonal flights will operate twice weekly from Richmond International Airport to Nashville International Airport (BNA). For these new Allegiant flights, one-way fares are "as low as $68", according to an Allegiant news release.

As per the Indian Constitution, a candidate needs support from at least 30 elected assembly members to become the Nagaland's chief minister. "The people and the masses are the real high command", Rio said.

The assembly polls in February threw up a hung verdict, with no party getting the majority when the results were declared last week.

Ten other ministers were also administered oath by Acharya today.

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah and the party general secretary Ram Madhav were all present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Outgoing chief minister TR Zeliang resigned on Tuesday. Earlier, in another flip-flop, the two NPP MLAs withdrew their letter of support to the alliance.

The announcement was made by the BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma who stated that party has already formed a pre-poll alliance with NDPP and now they are going to form a government in the state with its ally party.

Other reports by PlayStation Move reviews

Discuss This Article